How hot is too hot?

CDub

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2005
I am new to overclocking, but have been building rigs and coding for years. I have an E6700 and am doing a (what most would consider only a moderate) overclock to 3.34 ghz (333fsb x 10).

My idle temp is about 45C. Under load it hits 59/60. Keep in mind it's about 95 degrees Fahrenheit (35C) in the room. Gotta love Southern California houses with no air conditioning.

When the temp hits 60, the asus ai monitor yells at me. I believe I read somewhere that Intel rates the c2d chips at up to 60. But how hot is too hot? Am I going to burn up my cpu?

Thanks!

dougie_boy

Distinguished
Jun 15, 2006
most intel CPU have throttling for when they get too hot. what cooler u got on there???

for once im glad i live in the cold u.k. a sunny 18c where i am. whoop.
when summer hit the high 30s my pc nearly died, had too drop off my OC by 100mhz. hard times...

asdasd123123

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2006
For a CPU that is supposed to be sooo power efficient, everyone seems to whine about excessive temperatures...

It's fairly high, maybe get yourself a copper sink or something? =)

angry_ducky

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2006
For a CPU that is supposed to be sooo power efficient, everyone seems to whine about excessive temperatures...

It's only because of the sh!tty Intel HS/F that comes with it. And the fact that people are too stupid to figure out how to apply arctic silver properly.

asdasd123123

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2006
I wouldn't really recommend arctic silver to anyone though..
Conducting grease is bad. I use XT Flux thingy, non conducting and near equal performance ;)

Their HSFs didn't use to be very bad, the ones I've seen were pretty damn big and had a good 70-80mm fan on them..

SidVicious

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2002

It's only because of the sh!tty Intel HS/F that comes with it. And the fact that people are too stupid to figure out how to apply arctic silver properly.