Sign in with
Your question

Amd x2 4400

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
September 1, 2006 1:54:05 PM

Okay, first off hello to everyone....

Now, I am new to the world of upgrading computers so please be gentle.

I pulled out my amd 3200 and dropped in an x2 4400.

MB is a Gigabyte K8NSC-939...Installation ws easy enough...

No OC at all....when running Prime95...I get an error like 2 seconds in..
Tried running Orthos and get errors 2 seconds in...when just stressing the cpu it will run over an hour or so then pop an error...It now randomly locks up and I need to restart the machine. Ran Valves stress test fine (picked up 22 fps) but playing CS:S online, it will crash to the desktop.

Running Core Temp shows the temp at idle around 30c...when running orthos for about 15min, its around 40-43c....also, core temp only shows the temp for 1 core, 2nd core is grayed out???..is this normal?

Should probably running memtest to see if mem is a problem, but it was fine with the 3200...Ram is OCZ....2 sticks 512 and 1 stick 1gig for 2gb total...could that be a problem? Its the same model ram, same timings just different sizes.

Power supply is a Mad Dog 550w....Maybe this is an issue?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks
Gary

More about : amd 4400

September 1, 2006 2:18:13 PM

try a BIOS upgrade many motherboards required a BIOS upgrade for the X2s to work properly another thing that could be the problem, have you installed the AMD driver for X2?
September 1, 2006 2:21:26 PM

I would certainly check the RAM with memtest. I had a similar problem with faulty RAM. Also as you have put a new motherboard in it could be possible that the pins the motherboard have slotted into are causing a short circuit with the mainboard. I had this problem when I upgraded my mothers computer, it keep locking up at random. If the case is an older model then it might be worth considering.
Related resources
September 1, 2006 2:26:21 PM