Inspiron 9300 runs hotter and hotter - what can I do?

jkies00

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2006
Hi All,

I've had Dell Inspiron 9300 for about a year now, and it's been running hotter and hotter of late. Is this normal?

I'm not a hardware guy at all, but I'd like to learn a bit more, at least enough to keep my pc running properly.

Here's my basic system info:
scr-MyComputer.jpg

I typically will run several apps at a time, because I'm a web developer. Here's a list of my typical processes:
scr-processes.jpg

I think I'm a pretty good pc user. I know not to install malware. Periodically, I defrag and run AdAware. I only have five icons in my system tray.

My notebook didn't always run this hot. What can I do?

~jeff

ArbY

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2004
Dust is probably the biggest culprit behind your heat problem.

Also, your notebook can save power by making use of the Windows Power Management options.
Control Panel --> Power Options
The electricity flowing through the notebook's components is (obviously) what creates the heat. So this is a viable option.

Under Power Schemes, you can essentially regulate the amount of power being pumped through your notebook at a given time or in a given scenario. This feature is directly tied into the Pentium-M's speed step feature which lowers your CPU clock speed based on the activity of the notebook. If you're running a demanding application, it'll use all 1.86GHz of processor power. If you're browsing the web, it may receed to 800MHz at some points.
The "Always On" scheme will make sure everything is running at its highest level ... producing the most heat.

zenmaster

Splendid
Feb 21, 2006
Any chance you are using different software?

I know the 9300 runs very hot playing games and other intensive graphics programs if you have the high-end video card option which I have.

angry_ducky

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2006