DS3 vs. DQ6 ...worth the extra money?

EvilLost

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2006
While the DQ6 has the 1394 port I much need, it has 1 less PCI port (which would equate to a firewire card for me anyway..) so aside from this, is the DQ6 really worth the $80 more?

I am going with a 6300 and will be OCing, though its my first time and don't plan on doing it "extreme" but getting upwards of 3.2Ghz would be ideal..higher would be great if not aw well...

I guess the main question is, what exactly DOES the dq6 offer that the DS3 doesn't for such a huge jump in price? Spec-wise it seems rather similar..

Thanks in advance

EDIT: I was originally considering the DS4 but noone seems to know where I could find that, and I have slowly given up caring much about SLI.

Also, I know the DQ6 has better built in cooling, but with $80 I could easily drop that on aftermarket cooling, and may even consider putting a little extra on top to go water cooling instead of air? Would that give me a significant extra edge to OC even further (using the DS3 of course)?

EvilLost

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2006
I was under the impression the DS3 also had the solid capacitors (the "D" represents that no?)

so basically its about $80 for the 12phase power reg (which, tbh I'm not entirely sure what this IS exactly..or mor specifically, how USEFUL it is..)

and the RAID?

which makes me think the DS3 is the winner in that case

cb62fcni

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2006
Um, stating the obvious here, but DQ6 has gots an extra X16 right? Anyone know if there's hacked drivers for crossfire or SLI? That'd be a nice feature if you're into that sort of thing....

EvilLost

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2006
actually i was for a short while, but I'm more or less over it as I'm sure I'll be picking up a DX10 card instead of SLIing anyway

lcandy

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2006