Leaked coolant into components...

AceCobra1

Distinguished
Sep 2, 2006
Hi,

I was just wondering... I have a coolermaster aquagate cooler.... the bigger one with the unit which can be used externally or internally... Anyway, I made quite a big error when I was installing the heatsink.... I noticed there were 3 holes when the actual installation instructions showed 2.... so I installed 2 pipes into it... then I filled the unit with some coolant... blue coloured liquid... Anyway, when I did that... the coolant leaked out through the 3rd hole in the middle which i completely forgot about... leaked a fair bit... probably about 25ml - 40ml of liquid.. onto my graphics card which is an Asus GF7900GTX which i haven't even had the chance to use.... pretty gutted... but luckly I suppose, the machine wasn't on at that time... The other thing is that the liquid only got spilt onto the underneath of the graphics card... All I was just wondering is that what are the chances that my motherboard and graphics card be damaged rendering it unuseable ? I tried to connect the power supply to turn on the machine but to no avail.... The only thing that happens is that the fan spins just as I connect the power to the psu.... Any ideas if that is a good thing or not ?? Would appreciate some advice/ help....

Much appreciated,
T

allred

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2006
Get some deionised water and clean all the coolant off with it, with all the power cables unlpluged and you should wait about an hour before using the water after unpluging the cables so all the capacitors discharge before you do it. Then put the cards in a hot dry place (airing cupboard is a good place) to dry, and I would leave them there for at least a day. Then give them a go again. I would check with returns before doing any of that to see what they advise. You could be able to get them on you household insurance under accidental damage.

You should really have not tried to power it after realising you had spilt coolant...