How Much Power Do I need?

MrPaladin

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2006
This is my first build and the PSU is the only thing I haven't decided on. I'll be running an E6600 (overclocked), an X1900XTX, an ASUS P5W DH Deluxe, at most two optical drives and at most two hard drives (IDE and SATA respectively). How much power do I need? I've been looking at an Antec TruepowerII (550 Watts) and an OCZ GameXStream (600 Watts). Aside from wattage, the GameXStream has two more 12v rails, and I've heard it is a great power supply, but I don't want to get more than I need. Oh, and for the record, I'll probably upgrade my power supply before I get a DirectX10 video card, as the situation warrants. Thanks In advance.

MrPaladin

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2006
Cool, I can't believe I missed that. One more question, if I may: Does it matter whether I buy a PSU with a 24-pin or 20+4 pin connector? My motherboard is 24-pin.

ZOldDude

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2006
I gave up with Antec..and on the OCZ site the 600 and 700 seem to have the same amp rateings?

EDITED for link:
http://www.ocztechnology.com/products/power_management/ocz_sli_ready_gamexstream_power_supply

PC P&C 510 gives a constant 34 amps @ 12 volt with a long 38 amp surge time.
510 watts constant @ 50C (twice the rateing of all other PSU's 25C) and a long surge of 650 watts.

Neither the Antec or the OCZ will ever be able to put out rated power at real operating temps (50C not 25C) nor are they as well regulated.
IE: If you can feel warm air comeing out of the PSU it is already above it's rated operating pwr/temp output.

http://www.pcpowercooling.com/products/viewproduct.php?show=T51ASL

ZOldDude

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2006
Where can you get one. I found a couple that the company has on Newegg and they are over $400. Newegg has a 850w and 2 1000w versions. the 850 lists 4 12v rails with 17 amps on each rail.
These things seam a little exspecive for most people.