Sign in with
Your question

Common question : What should I get? Intel vs AMD

Last response: in Overclocking
September 4, 2006 12:04:39 PM

Hi,

this is my first time posting in this forum tho Ive followed it quite closely for quite a while now. Basically what Im gonna ask here is pretty much asked by alot of fellas out there looking to upgrade their existing systems.

Should I go with C2D or AMD?

Since C2D is pretty much in an early stage, with not many choices of Mobos to choose from, Im still torn between getting an AM2 system with a DFI board with NF590, or a C2D system with the 975x chipset. Judging from the reference board reviews, the NF590 chipsets look great, but it also promises to cost a great deal more than existing AM2 boards. I know that C2D processors are pretty much beating AMD procs into the ground, and they cost pretty much the same, but what kind of upgradability will an AM2 system offer compared to Intel since they seem to be heading into the Quad Proc direction. Will future AMD procs be supported by current AM2 boards? or will I have to change mobos regardless of whether I pick C2D or AM2?

If i do go for C2D, theres another decision to make about whether sticking to the ASUS P5W-DH Deluxe (very pricey) or holding out and waiting for the Nvidia chipsets to appear which might take awhile from what I gather, and might cost alot more compared to the 975x boards. The reason Im hesitant about going on the 975x path is because I already have an XFX 7600GT gcard which would be wasted if 975x boards do not support SLI in the future (hacked drivers or not).

More over, C2D doesnt seem to be very overclockable. My current rig has a P4 1.6ghz cpu running at 2.4ghz.

Hope you veterans out here might help me with my dillemma :) 
September 4, 2006 1:18:25 PM