Sign in with
Your question

Pro cards vs. gaming cards

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 6, 2006 2:02:10 AM

Hi everyone, just want to say that I am newbie to this forum, and I have some moderate video card knowledge. I have been reading up a bit and I am presented with the following dilenma;

I am a young professional. I plan on doing video editing and effects with Premiere pro 2 and After Effects 7, I plan on doing 3d graphics with Lightwave 9, and I use other programs like Flash 8, Photoshop CS2, Encore, and Audition.

Obviously the Quadro series intrigues me since they are supposedly made for these types of applications. But I could probably only afford a Quadro 1500.

Other system specs:
Core 2 Duo 2.4
4GB Corsair DDR2 667
Raid 0 10,000RPM (havent decided on the capacity)

Monitors:
Dual 19 inch CRT
One 1/4 HD Projector (native resolution 960x540, max 1024x768)

I have a personal distaste for LCDs because as a graphic designer, i hate not having even contrast throughout the screen, but if someone has a better recomendation than what I have below, please let me know what you think.

I plan on using the projector as a part of a media center. I already have it, and i would buy a tv tuner card and basically tv through my computer onto the projector

I also want to do gaming, I plan on getting a few games as soon as I get this system, but the bigger necessity is my profesional work, so the questio is; How should i handle this? Are pro cards worth the price? Will I have a big drop off in gaming? Will two 7900 GT (256MB or 512MB - I dont know yet) work better than any pro card at the same price range? Why the hell are Quadro cards so freakin expensive?