Intel or amd!

i'm building a gameing comp, its my first build. i picked out an intel mobo i might buy and a amd mobo as well. i want sli so both are nvidia chipsets, but should i get the core 2 or amd X2? any suggestions on mobos and video cards would be helpfull.
67 answers Last reply
More about intel
  1. Core 2 Duo if you can afford it. Make sure you get a motherboard that's compatible.

I'm assuming you're buying all new parts. If you're using some old DDR RAM, a socket 939 X2 might be an option if you don't have a lot of money to spend. Otherwise, you'd be better off with Core 2 Duo.

What's your budget?
  2. build from scratch. i'm looking to spend bout up to 800 bucks.
  3. Up tp $800? With a monitor and 2 video cards, it might be best to go with an X2 939 then. I'm not sure you'd be able to pull off a Conroe build with that budget.
  4. no screen just the box.
  5. Unfortunately, with only $800., you probably aren't going to get two video cards. A 939 sytem is about all you'll probably be able to afford, but don't worry about that. 939 systems are still plenty fast. Conroe or AM2 would require DDR2 ram, which would totally blow your budget.
  6. I agree.
    With that budget you´ll be better with socket 939
  7. how much do you think i'l need to build a conroe rig.
  8. Still, that might be a little tight. You're looking at about $100 or $200 for RAM (depending on 1gb or 2gb), about $100 for a HDD, $100-$150 for a case and PSU. If you want a CD or DVD-RW, you can get that for about $30. This is all assuming you don't want anything too fancy. That leaves you between $500 and $290 or so (with a DVD and CD-RW) for a processor, motherboard, and video card.

For SLI/Crossfire, you'll probably be spending at least $300, so assuming you get 1gb RAM, a cheaper case (you want a namebrand PSU at least), and no DVD or CD drives, you could get an X2 3800+ for about $120 and then a decent $90 motherboard all for within $800.

Like I said, that's kind of tight.