Sign in with
Your question

Trying to run video Editware

Last response: in CPUs
September 8, 2006 9:34:33 PM

Hello. This is my first post. I'm a filmmaker trying to use a new (for me) app on my 2 yr old PC. I am getting nowhere!

Installed several different video edit apps: Sony Vegas, Cyberlink, Windows movie Maker. Inst. new firewire card (Zonet 2400) on PCI .Have 1.5 Gigs of Ram on a 2.5 Mhz Celeron D. Cannot capture video beyond random frames. Capture for two minutes, plays back 2 seconds. Ive tried 2 cameras, different HDs, inc new, empty WD 250 Gig drive, different cables. No good. Is my CPU wrong for this task? Or could it be a driver issue? My video card is a dual Jaton 198PCI w/ 64MB memory running 2 CRT monitors.

I have tried different tapes, apps (trial versions),cameras, cables, inputs on the card, and destination drives. Everything but the F/W card and the PCU.

I have turned off Norton, and no difference. The capture window goes from still frame to frame, dropping frames by the hundred, CPU perf is at 100%, machine is slow.

Any help or info is much appreciated.

More about : run video editware

September 8, 2006 10:21:14 PM

A few questions need to be answered first:

what operating system do you have loaded?

have you ever been able to capture video from your cameras with this
system?

I've never heard of anyone video editing with a celeron but that doesn't mean it can't be done.
September 8, 2006 10:25:57 PM

your CPU and Vid card are really weak for editing of any kind, do u mind if I ask what sore of motherboard you have, or if your system is custom built because then we can probably help recommend something new for you to get if you are willing to!

Best,

3Ball
Related resources
September 8, 2006 10:27:06 PM

Sorry: I'm running XP Home SP2.
I have never tried to run video from a DV camera before, BUT I have successfully edited DVD files on this PC. They are compressed about 5x more than DV, I think, so owuld be easier to handle.