Take apart a Hard Drive?

lennydude

Distinguished
May 21, 2006
Hi there.............

Have an old hard drive that failed. I am thinking about buying another "exact model" working hard drive and taking them both apart. Put my disk with all its info into the working drive.

Is this even possible?

The info that is on the non working disk is not crisis level critical. I am a hack photographer and the disk has tons of my pictures on it along with lots of my music. I would like to get these back but really do not want to pay much. I can buy a used exact model copy of my disk for very little money.

Also, if this IS possible..................what size wrench fits those small "star" screws on nthe hard drive?

Thanks for any help.......

Lenny

BTW................this drive is NOT a boot drive...........it has NO OS on it.......just files.

mike99

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2006
You can try swapping the PCB with the controller circuits between drives (without opening the drive), but you have no chance of exchanging the platters inside the drive.

darkstar782

Distinguished
Dec 24, 2005
It depends where the failure is, but assuming you can track down the exact same disk (and there will be many revisions of even the same model), then swapping the PCBs is a possible fix, assuming thats the problem here.

DO NOT open the drive itself. The chances are you wont get it working again after that without very expensive drive recovery.

lennydude

Distinguished
May 21, 2006
The disk became VERY slow and then stopped working.

It shows up on the BIOS of 2 different computers but Windows XP will not recognize it no matter how I set it up................changed jumpers, changed cables, and changed IDE ports...............

I guees changing the platters is out of the question but I am thinking MAYBE the PCB might/can be done?????????????

Lenny

stallyn

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2006