Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Computer
  • Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
September 13, 2006 5:07:38 PM

Hi,

I’m making a build for a scientist friend that mostly will use the computer for numerical optimization and simulations in matlab (that is CPU intensive stuff). It should however also be possible to relax with a good game now and again and to run Windows Vista. Also it is important that the computer is not too noisy. Have about 1200€ (excluding monitor) to spend; the parts have to be bought in Finland which is about equivalent to spending 1200$ with US prices.

I have never built an Intel system before - but it seems the right thing to do now - so comments on the build are very welcome. I was thinking something like

CPU: Intel Core 2 duo E6600 (need the processor power) 340€
Graphics: Asus EN7600GS SILENT/HTD/256M PCI-E 150€
Motherboard: Suggestions please
Memory: Corsair Twin2X 2x1GB DDR2 300€
Hard drive: Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB 70€
PSU: Antec True Power II 480W 100€

I’m thinking if it would be a good idea to also buy a small fast hard drive for the page (swap) file, any suggestions?

More about : build suggestion number crunching computer

September 13, 2006 5:23:16 PM

me personally don't like hitachi drives, but they are fast, but i would prefer western digital or seagate, the swap file ideia it's very nice indeed if the program allows the relocation and if you have the money.
September 13, 2006 6:09:36 PM

What kind of simulations? Are they memory intensive? In any case I would strongly suggest running Windows without a swap file. At least in Windows XP. I used to have 2GB RAM and run XP without swap file, then upgraded to 4GB. If you know exactly how much memory your simulation needs, just make sure you have that amount of RAM.