my 1st build ever, critique it please!! really need ur help

omgitslong

Distinguished
Aug 19, 2006
This is my first build ever. I'm about to order them some time in the next 2 weeks, so I reallly need you to give any opinion or which ever comment that would help me in anywayz, thanks.

These are on a tight budget, but, other additional minor/major upgrades won't be anytime before 3-4 months after this 1st build is complete. :D

Aspire X-Dreamer midTower w/420W

AMD Althon 3500+ Orleans 2.2Ghz AM2

GIGABYTE GA-M55SLI-S4 Socket AM2

G.SKILL 512MB DDR2-800 5-5-5-15 CAS 5

Acer 19" 8ms LCD

WD 250GB 16MB SATA 3.0

Geforce 6600 256MB 128-bit DDR PCI-E

Dual-Layer Optical Drive

I really appreciate it. :D

-Long

custommadename

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2006
That power supply is really bad. You should definitely get a brand name power supply. I've had an Antec for the past 7 years, and it's working today like it worked when it was new. I can still overload PCs with tons of drives and lots of memory, and the 300W pulls through just fine.

I see you're buying everything through Newegg. I guess that's fine, but you can save a few dollars shopping elsewhere. Anyway, I'll give you Newegg links.

I have used a whole lot of Hipro power supplies, and they all work perfectly fine. The 400W Hipro has active PFC, a top-notch feature, and it's only $20. Plus, it has dual 12V rails for great stability, and though it may not look like much, it performs so very well. I reviewed it stating that it's the "worst great power supply" mostly because of the short power cable, which will definitely reach your motherboard's power connector. It's good, and it will last forever.