DQ6 with TWIN2X6400 - how to run at 1:1 @ 800MHz?? Help!

94Ranger

Distinguished
Sep 14, 2006
Guys,

I am new to adjusting memory. I have an E6600 in a GA-965P-DQ6 motherboard. I am running Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400 RAM. My machine works perfectly, but I am totally lost about running the memory and FSB at 1:1. It ran at 2;3 default, and it said it clocked in at 400Mhz. When I set the System memory multiplier to 2.0, it ran at 1:1, but only at 266Mhz. How do I get my RAM to run at the full 800MHz with it being at 1:1 with the FSB? The timings are 5-5-5-12.

If anyone can post screens or settings I would be greatly appreciated. I've posted my CPU-Z screens for you to look at. This is my first time to play with this! Thank you!!!!
Memory - http://www.houseofhelp.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=2102&d=1158203880

SPD - http://www.houseofhelp.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=2103&d=1158203886

Main - http://www.houseofhelp.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=2086&d=1157946819[/img]

fishboi

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2006
Can someone help Ranger? What does it mean if you have an FSB at 267Mhz and your RAM is at 400Mhz. The ratio is 1.5. Is that bad? Would I get better performance if I took my FSB to 400Mhz to get the 1:1 ratio? What does a 0.5 ratio difference really mean?

I have a similar issue and am new to this whole thing. My OCZ DDR2 800Mhz was running at 267Mhz when I installed it, FSB was same and ratio was 1:1. At the time, the timings where 5-5-5-XX, at CAS 5. (cant remember exactly)

RAM stock settings are 4-4-4-15, with CAS 4. Guys here told me to set the timings manually in my BIOS, which I did (mem voltage = 2.1V), but now I have major stability issues and tearing/crashing in games. My games are also much slower, WTF?

Thanks. Help Ranger first. I will learn through him.

PS. I have an extra line in my CPUZ/mem area, in the "BANK CYCLE TIME" space. Somewhere in the 20s. Not sure what the heck that is? What should it be. Thaaaaanks!

windego