can the power supply cause poping through speakers?

suckit

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2006
I built a system with an ecs board and pentium d 945, and was having problems with audio. there was faint static or poping every so often. althogh it is quiet it is anoying. also a loud pop at shut down, and occasionally at startup. a tech at frys encouraged me to swap out board for a new one and i did and i still had the same problem. so i also tryed upgrading from onboard sound to a creative audigy card and still had problems. i had all the latest drivers installed so im running out of possible solutions here. I'm no expert and this may sound crazy, but i was thinking it was possible that my power supply is so cheap that electrical current isnt flowing right causing some interference or something. i went the cheap route with the caase and bought a tricod 8068 with 480 watt power supply for 60 bucks.

Does anyone think this might be even remotely possible or am i just way off on this one?

ellover009

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2006
The logitech 5500 is famous for popping from unclean power, specially when you turn other things on, so I don't see why it couldn't be that. Try to get a battery backup supply, they are getting cheap enough.

krfan1

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2006
Get another set of speakers or headphones to try (to see if your main speakers are shielded)?

I am betting it may be your speakers--since you said you started with onboard audio and then went to an Audigy (and the problem persisted).

I don't think you need a battery backup.

Concerning the power supply, I suppose that could be the problem. I have been using generic powersupplies for years (until recently when I had to repalce one with a thermatake) and never had a popping noise.