Any suggestions on Anti-virus software- Best available

Status
Not open for further replies.
AVG would most likely be THE worse, I've already seen it miss viruses. Something free, usually isn't as good a program you pay for most of the time.

The Main consumer race is mcafee, Norton, and TrendMicro (pccillin). Panda is one that has had the best coverage/stoppage for a few years. They seem to have very little difference really. Trendmicro is smaller than norton and mcafee and usually crashes/locks up less. Panda is somewhat similar to Trendmicro.

HelzBelz

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2002
AVG, much less intrusive, easier to use. Doesn't hog CPU.

I second that motion! Get the free version here:

Get AVG Anti-Virus Free

Small footprint, doesn't slow down your system, automatic virus database updates, and is free for personnal use.

Top notch product, really. I've been using it for 3 years on multiple systems, and I don't miss any of the other "paying / subscription based" software.

Try it for a while: it's free and easily uninstallable, so no worries there; you don't like it, remove it... Have you ever tried to completely remove Norton? A real pain!

Regards,

HelzBelz

Edited: Don't be fooled by the "free" option. AVG is a paying software for corporations or professional uses; that's how it can keep up (and surpass, IMO) other paying titles. As for "missing" viruses: well, I've had the worst of luck with Norton and McAfee, while AVG would detect the viruses others have looked over... Your mileage may vary, of course.

trixst4r

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2006
AVG, much less intrusive, easier to use. Doesn't hog CPU.

I second AVG. I've only had it for my new rig but it has been working nicely. I have symantec corporate edition which was pretty good also but for some reason on this new computer, everytime i shut down, I get that window where it says "waiting to close application" and it slows down my shutdown "speed".

Giraffe

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2004