Realy stupid question

Blurr11

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2006
hey all im new to these forms and i'm acually quite new to the computer hardware community and i have a collection of Q's on CPU's (duhh)

I have resently been looking at this site for Intel Core 2 Duo info and have found that acording to a lot of people these CPU's whip ass ( sorry about the language ) personaly i have been told that AMD is betterand infact run on an AMD 64bit CPU.

My question is why are the Intels better?

Also i know that on windows the AMD's run only 32bits or somthing like that can you explane this to me. and if this is so will there be a change in performance when Vista comes out ?

now i know these probably seem like stupid questions and i have meany more ( unfortunaly for you) but please give me sume sort of answare even if it is only a referance to another site

Finally sorry about the spelling

TheTallGuy

Distinguished
Jul 13, 2006
These are really stupid questions as you have managed to state wrong things in question form. I have two recommendations.

google.com

wikipedia.com

I doubt you're going to get much from anyone in this forum with this post.

sailer

Splendid
For the moment, the top end core 2 duo cpus hold the high speed crown, and all the core 2 duo's are cheaper than the equivelant AMD cpus at the moment. Both the core duo and the AMD 64, X2, and AM2 will run 64 bit o/s and software. Older AMD cpus that are not 64 bit won't run Vista as it will require 64 bit, at least for the moment. There may be a Vista 32 bit edition, but probably not.

There have been some problems, mainly concerning BIOS problems and motherboards, with both the Core 2 duo and AM2. These are minor things and will be worked out in time.

exit2dos

Distinguished
Jul 16, 2006
hey all im new to these forms and i'm acually quite new to the computer hardware community and i have a collection of Q's on CPU's (duhh)