New at Overclocking

sheenster38

Distinguished
Sep 19, 2006
I'm relatively new to overclocking, but I've been reading up on it for a couple days now. So please excuse the lack of knowledge. :D Here's my setup, it's rather old:

Abit NF7-S2G
(BIOS rev. 15)
AthlonXP 2600+ 1.15GHz
(locked multiplier x11.5)
Thermalright SLK-900A
512MB DDR400 RAM
(2x Buffalo 256MB, CL2.5, NonECC, Unbuffered, Dual Channel)
ATI Radeon X700
350W Antec PSU

My BIOS settings don't exactly seem to be overclocking friendly... kinda hard to describe. Computer currently running at default settings after clearing CMOS. I set the BIOS to expert mode and started to increase the FSB Frequency up to 133MHz. The computer can bot up and load windows, but after a certain amount of time or hitting a certain amount of cpu load, the computer randomly shuts itself off. I'm not sure exactly what's causing this problem as nothing in my computer seems to be overheating. I read that vCore should be used when the FSB is high enoguh that the CPU ceases to boot properly, but I decided to increase it 0.25V just to check. The problem is that the BIOS only allows you to increase the vCore by increments in percentages, the only options being +6%, +12%, and +18%. It seems that +12% doesn't allow the computer to boot. The computer still turned itself off after a certain amount of time. MBM5 shows that the comp is running at 46C at 133MHz.

I'm not exactly sure why it's not letting me run the cpu stably at 133MHz even though everything else on the comp seems to be working fine at a relatively cool temperature. Even at 133Mhz, the comp runs at 1.53Ghz and before my recent reformat, I remember it running at 1.9~GHz from a previous overclock.

Thanks for all the help in advance.

mesarectifier

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2006
Google CPU-Z and download it. It should be either 'Palomino' or 'Thoroughbred'.