Sign in with
Your question

question of compatibility: motherboard and new PSU

Last response: in Components
September 18, 2006 10:04:43 PM

Hi, I'm new to this fine forum. I'm also new in general regarding pc hardware upgrades... the most experience i've had before today is "customizing" my Dell 4600 before checkout. haha. anyway, i decided to replace my old p.o.s. PSU with one of these:

Antec NeoPower NeoHE 550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply
http://www.antec.com/specs/NeoHE550_spe.html

but i can't figure out if it's compatible with my Dell Dimension 4600:

http://www.support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/dim4600/en/4600/sm/techov.htm#1105652

I look at that page and no lightbulbs go off in my head.

Dell tech support said, "...if the dimensions and connector on power supply are same then you can add this part on system. (The connector of power supply to motherboard)," so could someone tell me if the connector would, uh, connect?

Also, something i noticed that worries me is this "Antec NeoHE 550 PSU" mentions having a PCI-Express "special connector" but there's no mention of an AGP connector. I have an AGP 8x slot and an "EVGA e-Geforce 7800 GS AGP" arriving in the mail: will the Antec PSU be able to connect to that? I think maybe AGP doesn't require a special connector, but has some kind of regular connector for it (is the word dongle?)... i may have answered my own question, but i don't know for sure.

Anyone want to clear this up for me? Hopefully you're fast readers and i haven't wasted too much of your time. :)  Thanks
September 19, 2006 1:27:17 AM

Quote:
Dell tech support said, "...if the dimensions and connector on power supply are same then you can add this part on system. (The connector of power supply to motherboard)," so could someone tell me if the connector would, uh, connect?

Check out the "DC Power Connector P1" section on the support page and compare it pin-by-pin to a typical 20-pin ATX connector - looks good to me.