Beginner trying to overclock a 7900gs

Isy

Distinguished
Sep 14, 2006
I want to try and overclock my 7900gs (slightly). This is my first time.

Can anyone run threw the process and specify what software I need? I want to overclock to 500 core and 690 memory.
Can someone also direct me to the best software for monitoring the GPU temps whilst overclocking.

horstmann

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2006
Nvidia's nTune is straight from Nvidia and works if you have a nForce motherboard, or Rivatuner is a third party software. I would try nTune and forceware from Nvidia's homepage first.

nTune here

horstmann

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2006
Did you go to the link that I posted? It does lots of stuff.

New and improved task-driver user interface.

Adjust motherboard settings: Change system clocks, system voltages, system fans and memory timings.

Adjust GPU settings: Change GPU clocks and fans.

Dynamic BIOS access: Change system BIOS settings without entering the BIOS!†

Automated system tuning: Optimize system performance with the click of a button.

Custom rules: Provides the ability to customize the circumstances under which different system settings get applied.

Pre-built profiles/rules: Provide a quick path to getting the best performance when needed.

Event logging: Allows the tracking of bus speeds, temperatures, voltages, and profile changes in a log file that may be imported to a spreadsheet application for indepth analysis.

Fall-back control: Provides the ability to identify the precise profile/rule associated with a crash (profile/rule will be disabled after crash).

Improved dynamic overclocking: Provides on-the-fly overclocking and BIOS configuration within an easy-to-use Windows interface that is streamlined and simplified for better user understanding.

System troubleshooting: An automated reporting tool captures all needed information to help you determine when problems may be happening to the system, and helps you troubleshoot.