Sign in with
Your question

help on new build

Last response: in Systems
September 20, 2006 3:14:18 AM

I had some electrical problem at my new house and my PSU&Mobo went in smoke, forcing me to upgrade sooner than planed. This is my built, any comments (prices in canadian $, mostly from tigerDirect).

CPU : Core2Duo 6400 (300$)
Mobo : MSI P965 NeoF (140$)
RAM : Kingston 1024MB PC5400 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 Memory (2 x 512MB)
Enermax PSU :NoiseTaker2 420W (85$)
Radeon X600 Pro 256Mo (100$)
HD : Samsung SpinPoint T133 300GB / 7200 / 8MB / SATA2(127$)

I’m keeping my soundcard, optical drives and screen, but will probably trow in a antec Solo 2 case to replace my old beige box.
I’m a graphic designer and I will wait for the DirectX10 card to come out before investing on a graphic card, so I just picked a budget PCIxpress video card because my old agp won’t fit.
No time to play games too much, so it’s not a priority.
My old computer was really noisy, so this time I’m looking at quiet component.

My main interrogation goes for the RAM, graphic card and I still have to chose a CPU cooler will anything approved for socket 775 fit?

More about : build

September 20, 2006 3:38:03 AM

I would say you would like to either go with DDR2 533 CL3 Dual Channel, if you are in a budget. Reason for this is that youll get a performance boost since you will be synchonizing the RAM with the FSB. Or get DDR2 800 with 4-4-4-12 timings, these (in any brand) will be highly overclockable.

The Asus P5W DH is arguably the best Conroe mobo. But probably overkill if you arent a hardcore enthusiast. Besides its pricey.

Try getting a X800GTO for around the same price. Itll slaughter that card.

If you want the fastest avaiable (and cheaper than samsung) HDD, get a Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 because or its perpendicular recording technology it has become a really popular and reliable HDD.