XP's Network Setup Wizard broke my Home Network??

kank

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2005
Hello and thanks in advance for taking the time to read my post. I realize that most of the posts in this forum are tech support questions and that none of you can be expected to answer each and every post. In any case, I hope that someone might have even the smallest pointer on how I should proceed or where I should go to learn for myself. I am not a newbie, but I've never had such an apparent lack of basic connectivity before and it has me stumped.

Summary:

A family member ran XP's Network Setup Wizard on his ICS client PC in order to get his new laptop to connect to that PC for file sharing. Now, my ICS "server", running Windows 2000 Pro SP4, cannot even ping his PC or vice-versa). These computers previously worked fine sharing my dial-up internet connection and file and printer sharing worked at least partially (my Win2k computer could never access his WinXP file shares, but sharing worked fine the other direction). The fact that it worked fine before is one reason I'm so confused by it now.

Details.

1) 192.168.0.1 : Windows 2000 Professional SP4.
-My PC, which is an ICS server with shared files and printer.
-This PC can ping 127.0.0.1 and 192.168.0.1, but cannot ping 192.168.0.2 (ping request times out quickly).
-no Firewall operating

2) 192.168.0.2: Windows XP Home SP2.
-The second PC, which is an ICS client with shared files.
-This PC can ping 127.0.0.1 and 192.168.0.2, but cannot ping 192.168.0.1 (ping request times out slowly).
-Windows Firewall (ICF) has been disabled, but doesn't seem to matter. XP SP2's firewall allows file and print sharing access, anyway.