Sign in with
Your question

need some advice for my E6600 overclocking..

Last response: in Overclocking
September 22, 2006 10:15:54 AM

hello.. i'm newbie here.. i wanna to ask something.

this is my spec :

Intel C2D Conroe E6600
Gigabyte GA965P-DQ6
Corsair XMS2 1GBx2 675Mhz CL4
XFX Geforce 7950GX2
Enermax Liberty 620Watts PSU
Thermaltake Tsunami Dream Casing

this is my overclocking results :

vCore in bios = 1.425v
Memory multiplier = 2
vDimm = +0.3v
MCH Voltage = +0.2v
FSB Voltage = +0.2V

on this setting in bios, i have prime stable for 16hours.. idle 40C, load 55C.

here are my questions:

1. Are this setting is ok or need to decrease/increase somewhere..?

2. I have overclocked to 3.4Ghz and i can boot and log on windows. But when i run prime2004 test, after about 1 minutes, my system is reboot.
what can i do to make my system stable at 3.4Ghz..? do i need to increase/decrease somewhere in bios..?
September 22, 2006 11:17:43 AM

Well, the DQ6 can reach >400Mhz FSB speeds pretty easily, so I'd say your overclock can definately be improved. Did you know there's a C2D overclocking guide on this forum? It gives step-by-step instructions to get the most out of your OC. Check there. Also, make sure you're running the latest MB bios, should be F4 for you, though F5 betas are also available. What heatsink/fan combo are you using? How are your temps at 3.4? 40/55C, while well within the thermal envelope for this cpu, is still a tad high. Also, are you running a ton of HDDs/fans in this system?
September 22, 2006 12:32:34 PM

i have read he C2D overclocking guide before and i followed the guide to overclock my E6600 to 3.2Ghz..
but when i want to set it to 3.4Ghz, my system is not stable..

i'm using the F4 bios.
my temp at 3.4Ghz is idle (40C) and load (55C)..
i'm using thermaltake tsunami dream casing that have 120mm fan infront, 120mm back and 92mm side panel..
i'm using stock cooling..

please someone help me..
i love to be 3.4Ghz for my E6600..
Related resources