Your question

First Build Problem - Won't Start

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
September 25, 2006 11:19:08 PM

Hi all,

This is my first time building my own PC and I have run into a very big problem, the PC won't start. To be more specific: the MoBo light which indicates if there is power running to it is lit up, but when I press the power button all the fans (including the processor and video card fans) start briefly (between .5-1 second) and then turn off. After this happens, the only way to repeat the process is to disconnect and recconect the power. I've done this about 5 times, a few of them being with only one of the Corsair sticks in to see if it was bad RAM (I didn't know if this would effect the problem but thought I would try). I have since stopped trying to turn it on after talking to a local computer guy who says I could fry the chip if I do it anymore (he also stated he'd charge $50 to diagnose the problem and it would take a couple of days).

Details of the computer are:
- Asus P5W DH Deluxe Motherboard
- Corsair XMS2 1 GB Package (DDR2-800)
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
- 2 X Western Digital Cavier SE 160 GB HDDs
- Lite-On 16xDVD+-R w/Lightscribe ATAPI/E-IDE
- Sapphire Radeon X1900GT
- Antec Smartpower 2.0 500W

Other important notes:
- Using stock cooler with stock crap grease
- WD HDs are setup in RAID 0 using the EZ-Raid feature on the P5W
- The case I have (Thermaltake Tsunami Dream Series) does not have a speaker
- The only other computer in the household I have is a Dell Dimension 8000 so I doubt there's any way to swap the parts in between

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I ordered all the parts through NewEgg so, if I need to, hopefully the RMA process won't be to bad...

More about : build problem start

September 25, 2006 11:31:13 PM