I want to build a very brute rig

Khalinsar

Distinguished
Sep 26, 2006
Hi,

I currently own a P4 1.7, with a geforce TI4200... It's so old that many parts of it have broken since last year (coolers i had to replace, various plastic parts on the motherboard that i glued back together, and most recently the PSU overheated and stopped working...), besides, i can't run any games on this thing anymore...
Anyway, I've been doing some researching about the latest processors and video cards. I decided that now I want a very brute PC! I think i'm gonna get a c2d E6700. I still haven't decided if i should get a x1900xtx or something less expensive and wait to get the best video card when the DX10 gen arrives.
I'll use this PC mainly for gaming and college things (i'm a mechatronics engineer student, so i use a lot of cad, but anyway, i can run cad softwares with acceptable quality even on my p4, so that isn't my biggest concern). Loading times really don't bother me, so I don't think i should spend money on RAID, I think a SATA HD will do, what do you think? So, what is the best possible rig i can build considering those things i mentioned?
I need a new monitor too, which LCD monitor would be perfect for gaming? Sound quality is a very important thing for me, so i need a sound system that will do great on music, games and movies.

EDIT:

Here's the system so far:

Mobo
ASUS P5W DH DELUXE/WIFI-AP Socket T (LGA 775) Intel 975X
(I really liked all the features on this mobo!)

CPU
Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 Conroe 2.66GHz 4M sharing L2 Cache LGA 775

RAM
mushkin eXtreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit

Video
ATI Radeon X1950XTX 512MB 256-bit GDDR4 VIVO PCI Express x16 CrossFire
(still in doubt about the video card... Linux won't run at all if i have this card?? why do people always say that ati has such a bad support for linux?)

Sound
X-Fi Fatal1ty

Speakers
Gigaworks S750

HDD