Buying a new computer, need help with components

Kreisi

Distinguished
Sep 29, 2006
Hi

I'm planning on buying a new computer but I haven't been following the hardware market for quite some time, and I'm not an expert on hardware anyway. So I need some assistance with the components I'm buying: compatibility issues, performance etc.

I was thinking of spending around 900 euros (~1140 USD) on it but I'm not getting every component since I will be using some of my current parts (monitor, keyboard, mouse...). The computer will be used for playing games too so it has to be quite efficient, but I don't want to spend my money on the latest hardware because it's expensive, so I need parts with a good price/performance ratio. Also, I'm not planning to overclock it.

So, I'm going to buy the following components: motherboard, graphics card, memory modules, processor, case, hard drive, DVD drive. I'll go through the list component by component, I'd appreciate if you'd tell me if you have any thoughts on the parts, suggestions for better ones or anything.

Processor:
I still haven't decided whether I should get an AMD or an Intel. A friend told me that Intel has better price/performance ratio at the moment, despite of AMD dropping their prices.
Anyway, I should probably go for a 64-bit processor, but do you think it should be a dual core? Intel's Core 2 Duo E6300 and E6400 (Socket 775's?) seem quite good, but not very cheap. Some of AMD's Athlon 64's are a bit cheaper, 3800+ and 4200+ seem reasonable. Also, if I get an AMD I should probably go for Socket AM2 since there's really no point getting a 939, right?
A friend of mine told me that the boxed AMD processors contain a fan for the processor but he said that it's not very good and that I should buy one separately, is this so?
Oh, and does the model (Venice, Clawhammer, Orleans etc.) make a lot of difference?

Graphics card: