Sign in with
Your question

I need help with my dead hard drive...

Last response: in Storage
September 30, 2006 1:15:40 AM

Hello
I'm running out of options trying to revive my dead hard drive. The logic board on my Western Digital 80gb drive is fried. I have attempted to replace it with a logic board from the same model made two days later but with different firmware to no avail.

I have scoured the internet, and emailed drive sellers on Ebay -also to no avail.

I've even begun considering constructing a small "clean room" in order to crack open the drive and swap its contents with a similar model with a working board. However the likelihood of this working has yet to outweigh the likelihood of ruining the drive.

I've frequented Toms since the beginning and read it daily. Any help or ideas would be much appreciated.

More about : dead hard drive

September 30, 2006 6:21:04 AM

Look like you really need professional help. I'm not a professional so can't help you.

How you can fried the logic board btw ?
October 2, 2006 1:19:19 PM

I plugged the molex power in backwards.

Dumb move. Very dumb move - but I've done dumber things.
Related resources
October 2, 2006 2:13:51 PM

i highly doubt you can plug the molex in backwards unless you did it on purpose (which with a standard molex still isn't possible).

Ara
October 2, 2006 2:51:37 PM

I thought the molex houseing is shaped so it can ONLY go in the right way? ( The corners on one side are curved to fit in the hdd)
October 2, 2006 3:13:31 PM

Quote:
I thought the molex houseing is shaped so it can ONLY go in the right way?

That's the theory... but it's only plastic, I'm sure someone who's determined enough can get it to fit upside down.
October 2, 2006 3:54:32 PM

Look, it's not that difficult and I'm not retarded (although I'm sure my Wife would beg to differ).