Sign in with
Your question

Need help in how to use my amd Anthlon X2 4600

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
September 30, 2006 3:20:40 AM

Thanks to the help of people on this forum I have chosen the 4600+ X2
as my upgrade from my amd anthlon 64 3200+ venice.

I was told by the workers of fry's electronics, not to get it unless i get windows xp pro, is this true?

Any ways I have downloaded the patch and the dual core optimiser
and there seems to be no probles. How do I make sure that it works.
Does it show 2 task manager or what cause I dont know how to use it.

Mobo:A8N-VM
bios:0702
cpu:AMD 4600+ X2
video:p ny 7900gt
ram:2 gb corsair value select 400 mhz pc3200
psu:UltraVseries 500 watt
Hdd:maxtor sata 100gb

More about : amd anthlon 4600

September 30, 2006 4:24:59 AM

Is any body gonna help me? I know im a noob at this and it would be a waist of time to reply, but it would really help if some one could at least help me.
September 30, 2006 5:21:58 AM

So wait, you want to know whether or not XP Pro is needed to take advantage of a dual core CPUs?

Well, according to the pros, any version of XP will take advantage of both cores. So no, it's not necessary for your CPU, but I've found XP Pro to be much more stable than Home. I've used both extensively, and Pro is much better.

What are you using now? If you go to Task Manager, on the tab where it shows the graphs it should show two separate graphs, one for each CPU.
Related resources
September 30, 2006 7:03:16 AM

If you still can return it.....If your upgrading from a non x2 type cpu. Your better not dealing at the nightmares...