Need some serious help building on a budget (unwashed user)

chromizone

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2006
Hi everyone,

As the name states I'm a fairly unwashed user who'se looking to replace his current PC rig with something significantly more substantial. My Current PC is a first generation P4 (1.7 GHZ) and it simply can't keep up with what I want from it anymore (But being 5+ years old I'm really not shocked).

I'm on a budget (Have $750.00 ATM, aiming to get $1000.00) and looking for something that will have absolutely no issues running large Adobe programs and High end PC Games and videos and what not.

My issue is that I KNOW I can get a better PC by building it than from buying a new Intell or AMD package from one of the big box stores. But I have no experience doing so (Never built a PC in my life).

And I have high amibitions, I want to run a Core 2 Duo if at all possible.

So what can I do? what do you recommend? Should I simply buy it all of NewEgg?

I should Note I'm in Canada not the states so I don't know how much that will effect availability or shipping.

Please Please PLEASE someone let me know what I should be spending my money on and where I can get it.

trixst4r

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2006
newegg does not ship to canada.

Where do you live in canada? For online ordering, check out directcanada.com or ncix.com.

$1000 CAN will not get you something that is "high end gaming" with a core 2 duo.

A decent package would be.

ASUS P5B mobo($200)
E6300($230)
2gigs of 667mhz ram, 533mhz if you do not plan to OC ($250)
about $50-70 for a HSF if you are OCing
ATI X1900GT (should be had for around 230-250)

A case and a PSU will put you over the top of $1000. You can drop the vid card for a X1800GTO or if you can find a cheap X850XT. I already know that a lof of ppl will tell you to get a 1800XT but you most likely will not find one in canada.