How pure should isopropyl alcohol be for cleaning the HS/CPU

Scribs

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2006
Im having trouble finding pure isopropyl alcohol (can only find 70%), does anyone think I will notice much of a difference in performance vs something in the 90-99% range? I can order off the internet, but it would be nice to find something local instead. Thanks,

Scribs

joset

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2005
Im having trouble finding pure isopropyl alcohol (can only find 70%), does anyone think I will notice much of a difference in performance vs something in the 90-99% range?

Well, as long as you don't drink it! :wink:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rubbing_alcohol

Sure! "Wikied"! :lol:

Whatever concentration above 70% is good enough, for the purpose; however, since it contains water, I'd go for specific cleaning products, such as "Tim Clean", from Akasa.

(This was a very sui generis thread, indeed!)

Cheers!

paybax

Distinguished
Jun 26, 2006
Scribbs,
I'm a Pharmacy Tech where I live, so I know about alcohol. There is NO difference which type of alcohol you use, because either one will do the job. It's the alcohol BASE content that removes the residual thermal paste..........the 99% alcohol will just evaporate quicker. If I were you, I would use the 70 % isopropyl stuff. That way, if you have to rub a bit to remove the leftover GUNK from the heat sink and cpu cover, it won't dry up right away.
Hope this helps

Antec P180 Performance Case
SeaSonic S12 600w PSU
Asus A8N32 SLI S-939 (bios 1103 V02.58 )
RealTek 97 Onboard
ATHLON 64 X2 4800+ Toledo Core (AMD v 1.3.1.0/MS hotfix/ Dual Opt)
2 G's of Corsair 3500LL Pro @ 400Mhz 2-3-2-6-1T
2- BFG 7900 GT OC in SLI (NV 91.31)
WD RAPTOR 74.3 G's / XP Home / SP2 & Apps
Maxtor SATA II 250 G's /Gaming / Movies / MP3's
Maxtor SATA II 250 G's /backup (unplugged)
Sony CDrom 52X
Plextor 708-A DVD/CD rom
Razer DiamondBack Optical mouse
Logitech Z-5500 Dolby Digital 5.1 THX 500w

jimw428

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2006