upgrade this, or upgrade that?

dorkydood

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2006
i'm a noob, not an idiot...
environment:
small office, W2K SA server and ~8 workstations running various v.Windows.
server hosts SQL for external website, and a specific app that is -very- SQL intensive. so, mostly access to very large db files.
right now, the server is a P4 1.7 400FSB on an ASUS P4S533 with only 512mb of RAM.
i need a lot more out of this machine.
if i fill it full of RAM, and maybe drop in a P4 2.8 533 FSB, should i expect that much of a performance gain?
if i blow it all out and upgrade the motherboard and put in a core 2 duo, is all that money going to waste on simple little db access cycles?

what would you do if it was -your- money?

Thanks in advance.

niz

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2003
Your system is very low-spec for a modern business db server.

In your case, the cpu doesn't make as much difference as the ram and I/O speed. In fact the cpu upgrade you propose is such a small gain it will be a waste of money.

512mb is tiny for running windws, sql server, a big db, and a business app. It's probably paging out to disk so hard every time you run a query that it hardly responds at all so you should at least upgrade the ram.

The real question is, do you bite the bullet and upgrade the motherboard( +new cpu, new ram), or invest more money in a dead-end outdated tech. for example, your system probably takes pretty slow DDR memory, whereas most systems these days use much faster memory speeds and DDR2 which is not pin compatable with DDR so you couldn't move your memory over later. So if you buy DDR now, you're stuck with it.

What I would do is stop being such a tightwad, build a new bottom-end-core2 based system(say an E6400), 2 GB of RAM, and a mobo that also supports raid and gigabit ethernet. Also get a couple of 150MB raptor drives, put them in raid 0 and move everything onto them.