new Core 2 Duo setup

sweetpants

Distinguished
Jul 5, 2006
Howdy, I'm relatively new to Intel... so I was looking for any real critiques on my system that I'm upgrading to...

So far this is what I'm aiming for.

Intel Core 2 Duo 6300
2 GB memory (what speed and brand I'm not sure, could use help on that)
the following is already purchased:
ATI Radeon X1900XTX
300 GB Seagate
GIGABYTE GA-965P-S3
Rosewill 600 watt PSU

I'm buying these parts as I have the money so I can't buy the processor and memory immidiately. Any suggestions? Comments? Feel free and thanks in advance!

redraider_gamer

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2006
You seem price constrained, so we will keep that in mind. Somthing we should know:

What do you do with the computer?
Game? Which ones?
CAD?
Office?
Video Edit?
Etc.

Great Proc. Decent MB. Great Vid Card. A really good start.

Corsair PC5400 should work great. The Pro low latency could help, but you can buy the value and this rig will still fly.

Do you have a case in mind? The Gigabyte 3D Aurora Gamer is a relly good buy at the price point. Great airflow. Good mountings. Good looks.

For DVDRW - Get the NEC OEM DVD Burners. Never had one fail and they are cheap!

HD: The 300GB Seagate is good for a storage unti, but when you can afford it get one of the 10k Raptors. They do make a difference.

Sound Card: You will suck resources using this MB's onboard sound. Get the SB Audigy 2 ZS. Great price piont for the features.

My Rig:
Core 2 Duo X6800 Conroe (Stock Clock for Now)
Intel D975XBXLRK
Thermaltake Big Typhoon HSF
2 GB Corsair Pro PC6400 4-4-4-15
74GB 10k Raptor
ATI X1900XTX
SB Audigy 2 ZS
NEC DVD OEM Burners (x2)
Ultra X-Finity 600w SLi Certified PS
Gigabyte 3D Aurora Case

sweetpants

Distinguished
Jul 5, 2006
Well I got a hell of a deal on it. 239 bucks for the ATI X1900XTX. So I definately didn't throw any money down the drain, if you think you can find a better deal, by all means point me in the right direction.