Building new system. Need Feedback

jeaze_mcleod

Distinguished
Oct 2, 2006
I am strongly considering building a new system to replace my aging 4 year old system. So I need some feedback from some of you to help me decide on the path to take. Im in a BUDGET and my primary goal is to overclock the CPU at least 1Ghz over initially. I will be using water as a cooling solution.

Motherboard: DFI Infinity 975X/G
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6300 1.83 Ghz
Ram: OCZ Technology Gold 2GB PC2-5400 DDR2 DIMM Memory Kit (4-4-4-8)
Video: Gigabyte GeForce 7600 GT 256MB
Water Cooling: Thermaltake Big Water 735
PSU: 600 W

I am aware that there are some excellent air cooled solutions but dont hold up once you go beyond a certain point so I decided to go with a water solution. I am hoping that I could take this system beyond 1Ghz overclocking but I wont be disapointed if I dont surpass that line since I am already gaining an excellent price to performance ratio right at that point.

This is my first time using a DFI board and I have to say that the plethora of features in the BIOS alone took me by suprise. I havent been able to find a board with so many options to offer other than this one.

Any good input would be apreciated. Thanks!

ervinshiznit

Distinguished
May 30, 2006
if u want 2 b able 2 oc 1 ghz, u def. need faster ram

find some ddr2 800 ram at 4-4-4

also, even if u took the e6300 and brought the bus up to 400mhz, it would be a 7*400, or 2.8ghz cpu

after that i don't thnk ur ram would b able 2 keep up, but not sure on that part

Since for some unknown reason its taking a long time to PM and I think this would be interesting to everyone esle here I'll put what I found in the public forum.