C2D Build needs approval

Kosko

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2006
Hey guys, this weekend my old computer died. I'm tired of replacing RAM, power supply and video cards on it and since the new technology is out; I think its time to upgrade. Here's what I'm thinking so far:

CPU: E6600
MOBO: GA-965P-DS3
Video: Sapphire 100168L Radeon X1900XT GDDR3 PCCI E x16
HSF: ZALMAN CNPS9500
Memory: Corsair XMS2 (2 x 1GB) 4-4-4-12 timing
HD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 250 GB SATA
Monitor: Samsung 204B - BK 20.1" 5ms LCD

These parts would all come to $1512.94

I already have an old LCD monitor, but to get a better one for the new computer to really show the new performance seems like an important option.

I still need a power supply, I don't know the difference between all the options so I was hopeing someone could reccomend one for me.

I have a CoolMaster case laying around that I could use for it, and my old case as well. I'm still option to suggestions though.

What I want to do with it: Audio and Image editting (photoshop, illustrator, some 3D). Gaming.

Also, I was wondering if anyone could reccomend a good digital audio in component for recording. Maybe something I could set up during the build, instead of something like the mBox which would go aftermarket through a USB cable.

Lastly, I don't have an overbearing desire to overclock. I'd rather opt for a fast and stable PC. Either way, these seemed to be some of the best bang for buck options out there. This will be my first complete from scratch build, so I just want someone to review and clear any worries I may have. Much thanks and I'm really looking forward to a new machine.

Kosko

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2006
Looking at other threads I think I am opting for the ASUS P5B Deluxe Socket for the motherboard instead of the gigabyte as well as OCZ GameXStream 600W power supply. Thats all my thoughts so far.

Thanks for reviewing.

Norien

Distinguished
Aug 3, 2006