F00ja31

Distinguished
Oct 2, 2006
hi. im new to having several partitions on my hd and moving the pagefile to the other hd for better performance. the question i have is would be still ok to use my current hd Barracuda 7200.8 SATA NCQ 200gb to have a pagefile on it along with my mp3 an other files i store and buy a new seagate 7200.10 320 gb to install os and games on it or should i buy 2 7200.10s. i short on cash a bit so i wanna know if 1 new hd would be still good enough for the performance increase. thanks

Doughbuy

Distinguished
Jul 25, 2006
If you buy 2 HDD's you can Raid them together for better performance, but that would be up to you. Otherwise no need to buy 2 more HDD's, you can go with your current plan. One HDD for deep storage, defrag once a month or so, one HDD for OS/Games/constant acces, defrag once a week...

OldGoat

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2006
I would not spend the extra cash on 2 HDD's unless you have it. your old HD will do fine for your storage needs. If you want to put your page file on the non OS drive then I would recommend creating a small 10-15GB partition on the drive for the pagefile. It will help keep the drive from becoming fragmented.

SciPunk

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2005
I disagree w/ Oldgoat, only in that I believe you should physcially seperate your OS/apps from your data IF YOU POSSIBLY CAN. Even if you are low on cash, this is well worth the money for many reasons. Most important, you re-partion and low-level-format your OS/apps drive with no worries about loosing your precious and irreplaceable data (or even your P-I-T-A to replace data). You could even swap in a brand new drive and re-install OS and gain access to your data... or swap the data drive into another computer to access your data. It just makes so much sence, everybody ought to do it.

He is absolutely right about the additional partition for the page file on the 2nd drive, but it is not necessary, especially if you observe Doughbuy's advice and defrag regularly.