Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

XP Media Centre Edition cannot join Domain network

Last response: in Windows XP
Share
November 21, 2004 3:03:23 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics (More info?)

Any one know how to join a domain from within XP Media Centre Edition?

I'm log in as administrator but the Network ID in Computer Name in System
Property is greyed out. Anyone knows if there is a way round this or I is
not a feature of Media Centre Edition.

Thanks

---
Ed
Anonymous
November 21, 2004 3:03:24 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics (More info?)

Edward wrote:
> Any one know how to join a domain from within XP Media Centre Edition?
>
> I'm log in as administrator but the Network ID in Computer Name in
> System Property is greyed out. Anyone knows if there is a way round
> this or I is not a feature of Media Centre Edition.

Please stop Multi-Posting.
Try Cross-Posting in the future.

It cannot be done with a pure installation of Windows XP Media Center 2005
(as I have pointed out to you in your other posts.) There is no NEED for it
really. If all you want to do is access network resources, you can still do
this - you just don't get control of the PC through Active Directory.

--
<- Shenan ->
--
The information is provided "as is", it is suggested you research for
yourself before you take any advice - you are the one ultimately
responsible for your actions/problems/solutions. Know what you are
getting into before you jump in with both feet.
Anonymous
November 21, 2004 3:03:24 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics (More info?)

Hi,

It's not a feature of MCE, though MCE is taken from the Pro version of
WinXP. An MCE machine is normally a stand-alone home unit and would not be
connected to a domain.

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org

"Edward" <hsmmsc@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:enFVaI8zEHA.1292@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> Any one know how to join a domain from within XP Media Centre Edition?
>
> I'm log in as administrator but the Network ID in Computer Name in System
> Property is greyed out. Anyone knows if there is a way round this or I is
> not a feature of Media Centre Edition.
>
> Thanks
>
> ---
> Ed
>
>
Related resources
Anonymous
November 21, 2004 3:11:37 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics (More info?)

Actually, you can join a domain, but only during a clean installation, and during the initial setup of the machine. After the initial setup is complete, this functionality is removed. This is for compatibility with the Media Center Extender devices.

Additionally, if you're upgrading a machine that is already joined to a domain, it will remain joined. However, if you leave the domain, you can't go back.

--
Doug Knox, MS-MVP Windows Media Center\Windows Powered Smart Display
Win 95/98/Me/XP Tweaks and Fixes
http://www.dougknox.com
--------------------------------
Per user Group Policy Restrictions for XP Home and XP Pro
http://www.dougknox.com/xp/utils/xp_securityconsole.htm
--------------------------------
Please reply only to the newsgroup so all may benefit.
Unsolicited e-mail is not answered.

"Edward" <hsmmsc@hotmail.com> wrote in message news:enFVaI8zEHA.1292@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> Any one know how to join a domain from within XP Media Centre Edition?
>
> I'm log in as administrator but the Network ID in Computer Name in System
> Property is greyed out. Anyone knows if there is a way round this or I is
> not a feature of Media Centre Edition.
>
> Thanks
>
> ---
> Ed
>
>
Anonymous
November 21, 2004 3:11:38 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics (More info?)

Doug Knox MS-MVP wrote:
> Actually, you can join a domain, but only during a clean
> installation, and during the initial setup of the machine. After the
> initial setup is complete, this functionality is removed. This is
> for compatibility with the Media Center Extender devices.
>
> Additionally, if you're upgrading a machine that is already joined to
> a domain, it will remain joined. However, if you leave the domain,
> you can't go back.

Cool.. So it is not just during upgrades? Are you saying you can do it by
making an unattended version?

--
<- Shenan ->
--
The information is provided "as is", it is suggested you research for
yourself before you take any advice - you are the one ultimately
responsible for your actions/problems/solutions. Know what you are
getting into before you jump in with both feet.
Anonymous
November 21, 2004 6:27:31 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.basics (More info?)

It can be done manually, during the initial install/setup. I would expect that an unattended install will work, as well.

--
Doug Knox, MS-MVP Windows Media Center\Windows Powered Smart Display
Win 95/98/Me/XP Tweaks and Fixes
http://www.dougknox.com
--------------------------------
Per user Group Policy Restrictions for XP Home and XP Pro
http://www.dougknox.com/xp/utils/xp_securityconsole.htm
--------------------------------
Please reply only to the newsgroup so all may benefit.
Unsolicited e-mail is not answered.

"Shenan Stanley" <news_helper@hushmail.com> wrote in message news:o quXJT$zEHA.2200@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> Doug Knox MS-MVP wrote:
>> Actually, you can join a domain, but only during a clean
>> installation, and during the initial setup of the machine. After the
>> initial setup is complete, this functionality is removed. This is
>> for compatibility with the Media Center Extender devices.
>>
>> Additionally, if you're upgrading a machine that is already joined to
>> a domain, it will remain joined. However, if you leave the domain,
>> you can't go back.
>
> Cool.. So it is not just during upgrades? Are you saying you can do it by
> making an unattended version?
>
> --
> <- Shenan ->
> --
> The information is provided "as is", it is suggested you research for
> yourself before you take any advice - you are the one ultimately
> responsible for your actions/problems/solutions. Know what you are
> getting into before you jump in with both feet.
>
>
January 22, 2014 8:40:57 PM

Microsoft’s FAQ’s it claims Windows Media Center is for home use so it does not support Domains. Hmmm! If this is true then why did it bring up the Network Access Wizard during install allowing you to join a domain? So I find out that Microsoft simply has disabled the Domain features in the System Properties dialog but everything is installed just like in Windows XP Pro. Apparently they wanted to market Windows Media Center 2005 for less money then Windows XP Pro and they did not want corporate users getting a discount. So I thought if only I can run the Network Access Wizard after I install the correct Gigabit Drivers I will be in business.



After hacking around, I found I could if I edited the Registry in the following way:



In key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\winlogon

Create a new DWORD value called RunNetAccessWizard and set its value to 3

Then restart the computer and voila
!