Sign in with
Your question

What else do I need - 1st time build-not a rate my system

Last response: in Systems
October 4, 2006 8:37:57 PM

This is not a rate my system question...I've done that elsewhere and am pretty close. I'll probably post it one more time just before purchase.

However, I'm a newbie at building an entire system from scratch (have replaced most components but one at a time except for the CPU). I'm planning to get mostly retail packages so I think that will ensure that I have all the necessary cables. But I'd like to find out if there is anything else I might need that being new at the game I would find myself either missing or build without and cause instability.

Thermal paste?
Any cables?
Anything else someone with lots of experience can suggest?

Basic plan is stock HSF with mild O/C using air cooling only, core 2 Duo based system.
October 4, 2006 8:54:54 PM

Since you are OCing, get a tube of artic silver 5. its like $8 and will have more than enough in it for you to reseat your HSF a couple of times.

Also, some rubbing alcohol or isopropyl if you dont have some already to clean teh HSF.

Can't think of anything in particular you might need to build a computer.......a screwdriver maybe? 8)

good luck
October 4, 2006 9:04:07 PM

ok i know you said its not a rate my system, but if you list all the parts you plan on buying(with links) it will be eaiser to guide you on what things you might have forgotten to get and maybe advise some changes. This way you might be able to get a better system for less :D 
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
October 4, 2006 9:10:47 PM

Make sure you have enough fans in your case, typically a front intake and a rear exhaust, 120mm if possible.
Forgotten peripherals may include a surge protector and/or UPS, and a mic or headset if you want to use programs like Teamspeak while gaming.
Do you need a mouse pad? Wrist rest (KB and/or mouse) ?