Sign in with
Your question

Would like advice and ideas.

Last response: in Systems
October 5, 2006 3:34:01 AM

Hi I'm really new to building from scratch. Done a little upgrade but nothing much. I'm wanting to give it a try as i do need a better PC than this old thing P3 700mhz....sad i know. I'm trying to learn and will be doing a small course on upgradeing with in a month. I do use a lot of Photoshop CS2 and try play Counter Strike a little bit but thats the heaviest stuff i do.

Anyway I'm looking at the Asus M2N-E socket Am2 nForce 570 Ultra MCP mother board with a AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Am2 so far. I figure about 200 gig harddrive would do me to start off.
I'm lost when it comes to RAM and the Case and power stuff.
I have Monitor, new DVD -RW and those things plus money is very tight so any cheepy sugestions would be great. I'm still saving and hope to get a video card at a later date. (maybe)
I also have a Question will I need to put a dial up modem in as i have ADSL?
Would also like to know if those will work good together for what I'm useing. I'm not a big gaming person just play on the net with my son sometimes. Oh and I'm in Australia if that happens to make any difference.
Thanks. 8)

More about : advice ideas

October 5, 2006 11:53:45 PM

Bumping this as I could really do with some advice here.
October 6, 2006 12:32:05 AM

Photoshop is quite demanding so you might need a more powerful processor. Dual cores are getting pretty cheap (sub $100) so consider that. Just how tight is your budget? Could you ballpark the amount? You might be able to buy a Core 2.

A decent video card will do Counter Strike more justice. Again, budget estimate really helps here.

Sorry, don't know of any Australia stores, but many etailers sell internationally.