Prime95 error after 20 mins. Now what?

Primus462

Distinguished
Dec 19, 2005
I upped my 4200+ X2 to 2.507GHZ (228x11) and started two instances of Prime95 and went to bed. When I got up this morning I found out that it had crashed. I increased the voltage by .025 to 1.3125 and started it again, and headed off to work.

If it errors again, where do I start on figuring out what caused it to fail? I'm new to this.

Thanks!

mkaibear

Distinguished
Sep 5, 2006
It's just a guess, but I suspect what caused it to fail is THE OVERCLOCK!

Try running Prime95 with no overclock at all, see if it runs with no errors. If it does, you've clocked your processor too high and it's erroring.

Primus462

Distinguished
Dec 19, 2005
I believe that comment was unnecessary. Obviously, it's unstable because I overclocked it, I am aware of that. I'm trying to figure out what I should try adjusting in order to make it stable. How do I know what caused the error? Where do I start? I had it running at 2.4GHz for a couple of weeks with no problems. Now I'm trying to get it to 2.5GHz.

samir_nayanajaad

Distinguished
Feb 22, 2006
Okay few questions.

Did you oc the cpu and ram separately to find their max oc individually or did you just start to up the HTT bus?

Have you changed your ram timings, voltages, and dividers?

Have you taken as much load off the chipset as possible by disabling unused things such as a floppy drive, firewire, extra usb ports ect.?

So not to leave you with no help and only more questions I'm gonna assume some answers to those questions and maybe give you some help.

I bet you just started by upping the voltages and htt bus speed and that is most of how you overclock but you need to tweak your bios so that other parts can handle that. First I would look at your memory dividers and adjust them so your ram is running below their speed rating.

That will hopefully eliminate the ram as the cause and you should also make the timings kinda loose too just to make sure.