Suggest a System

Marco_Coder

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2006
I'm a software developer, Java and web enterprise stuff to be exact.

My tools suck up CPU and memory. UltraEdit, Eclipse, SAS, MySQL, Tomcat, WebLogic usually are all running and churning all at once. Plus all the MS Office crap, and IMs.

I'd like some suggestions on a CPU,MB,Ram, and GC, there are so many MB and CPUs, Memory factors, and graphics cards.

I've built many PCs over the years but never overclocked one.

I'd like to stick to a budget of 2K, and would like a nice new high def montior atleast 20" wide. 4GB or Ram for my tools.

I'll use existing CDRW & DVDRW, mouse keyboard.

And case if necessary.

Thanks for your help.

Well this is what I came up with in the time I have:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz $316.99
SAMSUNG 225BW Black 22" $389.99
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3400620AS 400GB x2 $169.99
Kingston 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 x2 $214.99
Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA Black Aluminum ATX $115.99
SAPPHIRE 100168L Radeon X1900XT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 $259.99
ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP Socket T (LGA 775) Intel P965 $209.99
OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI ATX12V 700W $154.99
Scythe SY1025SL12M 100mm Sleeve Case or CPU Cooling Fan $7.99
Scythe SCNJ-1000 CPU Cooling Heatsink $39.99
Total Price $2265.88

All found on Newegg.com
Hope it helps.
Ninja

PS If you want I can provide all the links. Or go even better than what I've setup here.

ikjadoon

Distinguished
Feb 25, 2006
Why an expensive GPU?

Are you going to be gaming? If not, strap in a 7600GT. The 7900GTO is a good alternative if you are gaming..

Use that saved cash for 4GB of RAM.

~Ibrahim~

haywood

Distinguished
Sep 5, 2006
Vista will see 4 Gb of RAM. That and with the price of RAM now, it would be better to start with 2 Gb now and add 2 later.

Marco_Coder

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2006
Thanks so much for all the input! I'll read up on your suggestions.