I need some help. PC wont turn on.

G

Ok here is the deal.

I have a 2 year old dell, wanted to see what socket the cpu was b/c I was wanting to upgrade it. I unpluged all power connectors, took PSU out, took heatsink off, and got the number. Put the heatsink back on, PSU back in, plugged the power connectors, mobo, CD, and HDD, back into place. Once I had eveything hooked back up, I plugged all the cords to the back, mon,mouse,keyboard,etc. Set the case back up, press the on button, but nothing happended.

The lights on the back are working, so is the light on the Mobo.

What do I need to do to find out why it wont turn back on? Any thoughts?

I am not an expert, but do know a good bit about this stuff.

G

Yes, reconnected that as well. I think that is what is going wrong, I dont know.All power cords are hooked up as original.

Did I need to reapply some thermal grease to the cpu? If so, how do I take it off, and reapply it?

G

Did not have the socket number in system info. Did not take the cpu out of its socket. Too scared. Yep the 4pin is connected.

RichPLS

Champion
No need to mess with the CPU, it should be fine as before...
Obviosly, you have overlooked something during re-assembly, since it was working before... ReCheck all connections again and again, something has been overlooked.

G

So, even though I took the Heatsink off, it shouldnt effect the CPU, or the Computer? I dont need to reapply grease?

RichPLS

Champion
My bad... I did not realize you removed the heatsink from CPU.
I would then clean it with isopropyl alchohol and reapply Artic Silver 5 or the equilvant...
But even so, the old paste should still not cause the PC to not power up, since it should still contact sufficient to work. The problem is that tiny air pockets and dirt would cause the CPU to run hotter than optimal.

G