I need some help. PC wont turn on.

G

Ok here is the deal.

I have a 2 year old dell, wanted to see what socket the cpu was b/c I was wanting to upgrade it. I unpluged all power connectors, took PSU out, took heatsink off, and got the number. Put the heatsink back on, PSU back in, plugged the power connectors, mobo, CD, and HDD, back into place. Once I had eveything hooked back up, I plugged all the cords to the back, mon,mouse,keyboard,etc. Set the case back up, press the on button, but nothing happended.

The lights on the back are working, so is the light on the Mobo.

What do I need to do to find out why it wont turn back on? Any thoughts?

I am not an expert, but do know a good bit about this stuff.

Grimmy

Splendid
Feb 20, 2006
You prolly would have got that info you needed from CPU-Z program.

I'd re-go through everything you un-installed. Re-seat the RAM, video cards and such.

Also, you will should reapply thermal grease, since you took off the HSF.

G

Couldn't find the program to locate socket number. I didnt take out the ram, and the video is built in. What kind of thermal grease, and how do I apply it?

G

Thanks for the links. Is there anything else I should be worried about? All the plugs are working, and lights are on. It shouldnt be the HDD right?

G

I did reconnect both the 20, and 4 pin. the fan, hdd, cd rom-only 1, and on switch. Everything is connected the way it should. It has got to be something wiht the cpu.

My cpu is P4 2.6ghz. Not that special, expecially for gaming. Thats why I wanted to upgrade it.

UC7

Distinguished
Aug 31, 2006
This might seem like a stupid response, but usually it is the simplest of things that screw up a reassembly.

1) Did you make sure that when you put everything back together, the power switch connector for the MB was in place?

2) Did you make sure that both power supply plugs for the MB are connected correctly?