Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question

Help!! Asus P5B won't boot

Tags:
  • Asus
  • Motherboards
Last response: in Motherboards
October 6, 2006 12:55:48 AM

Hello everyone, I'm new to th. I'm assembling a computer for a friend of mine, an Asus P5B + Pentium D 805 combo. As I was assembling, I installed all the basic components (ram, graphics card, cpu) but nothing will happen when pushing the "on" button on the case. I've checked jumper positions for the chassis inputs more than once, I even switched to another case.. but still nothing will happen. The mobo's led lightens up, indicating that power is coming through.. but it just won't boot! Any suggestions? Anything whatsoever? Please? :°°°

More about : asus p5b boot

a b V Motherboard
a b Ĉ ASUS
October 6, 2006 1:22:36 AM

Quote:
Hello everyone, I'm new to th. I'm assembling a computer for a friend of mine, an Asus P5B + Pentium D 805 combo. As I was assembling, I installed all the basic components (ram, graphics card, cpu) but nothing will happen when pushing the "on" button on the case. I've checked jumper positions for the chassis inputs more than once, I even switched to another case.. but still nothing will happen. The mobo's led lightens up, indicating that power is coming through.. but it just won't boot! Any suggestions? Anything whatsoever? Please? :°°°

You might try resetting the CMOS jumper. I've read the P5B Deluxe requires the following from the ASUS website:

Quote:
Question

Why will my system power off and on again sometimes after altering CPU or memory settings in BIOS?
Is that normal?

Answer

Yes, that is normal. Due to chipset limitation of Intel ICH8 and above chipsets, system will require a full reset after such change is made to system to trigger the southbridge chipset.

http://support.asus.com/faq/faq.aspx?no=63B538FE-1F21-4...

You should list yor system components.
a b V Motherboard
October 6, 2006 1:56:11 AM