DeviantAngel

Distinguished
Sep 23, 2006
First off, I have never built a computer in my life, from scratch. I have done the simply stuff, like RAM, GPU, HDDs. But I am needing a new rig, and I don't wanna spend a load to have some company to do it when I can savea few hundred doing it myself. Do you guys recommend that I build a high perfomance rig, if its my first time building one? I don't think its much of a problem, everything seems plug-n-play...I am just confused about BIOS a bit I guess. Anyways, I am looking at this setup:

-Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz 4M sharing L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor
- GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3 Socket T (LGA 775) Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard
- SAPPHIRE 100168L Radeon X1900XT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 VIVO PCI Express x16 CrossFire Video Card
- CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

Thats the barebone, I do not know if I should get new HDDs or swap from this rig, same with dvd drive, and floppy. And, since this would be my first time, do you guys think that if I do try to make this, that I should keep this rig running as my back up((Or in other words, don't swap parts)) until I get it up and running to not waste cash? I have anywhere from 1k to 2k to build this rig, and I want top of the line without the too heavy of a pricetag. Thanks!

rwaritsdario

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2006
Just follow a guide step by step and youll be fine. Your motherboard manual comes with everything you need to know about the basic BIOS to get everythign up and running.

The Abit AW9D-MAX or the Asus P5W DH are both very fine picks that are rock stable at stock speeds and excellent overclockers. Theyre both based on the 975X chipset wich will get BIOS revisions to support quad-cores.

Dont spend on Corsair premiun, unjustified price!