Core 2 Duo WILL boot to Vista, NOT XP

hawesn

Distinguished
Oct 7, 2006
Hi all. I'm a newbie poster but need some help.

I just finished building a new computer with an Intel MOBO (D946GZIS) and Core 2 Duo (E6300). I'm using my old Seagate HD (250 GB SATA) that has two partions: one for XP Home and one for Vista RC1.

Here's where it gets interesting. It will boot just fine to Vista. However it will not boot to XP. I get a blue screen after a few seconds into the boot sequence. I've updated the MOBO to the latest Bios and I've tried booting in Safe mode.

Any ideas?

hawesn

Distinguished
Oct 7, 2006
XP was installed first.

By the way, before doing this build (with my old MOBO and CPU) the dual boot worked fine. I could boot to either OS.

The_OGS

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2006
before doing this build (with my old MOBO and CPU) the dual boot worked fine. I could boot to either OS.
LoL - you're joking right?
First you build the hardware, then you install OS!
You cannot run new hardware on a previous OS installation. (I thought this was common knowledge).
You will likely get a blue screen of death a few seconds into the boot sequence...
Each and every OS installation is individual and unique to your specific hardware, capish?
L8R

hawesn

Distinguished
Oct 7, 2006
Admittedly I'm pretty new to all this...

I did not perform a new instal of the OS after doing the build. But Vista still works.....

OK...I will reload XP....you learn something new everyday :)

croc

Distinguished
BANNED
Sep 14, 2005
Thanks guys for staying up late and helping.

No big deal, it was The_OGS that really figured it out... I am running a tripple boot 2 partitions of XP and 1 of Vista 64 right now. I found the bootloader for Vista to be odd -- there is a nice program for Vista to work with this loader:

http://www.vistabootpro.org/