October 8, 2006 3:30:40 PM

What I've got:

Case w/430W power supply
Keyboard/Mouse
Monitor
Speakers

What I need:

Motherboard
CPU (I'm used to AMD but not opposed to Intel)
HDD
Video Card
Memory

My system took a dump on me and I'm running a Frankenstein comp. temporarily. I'll be doing a little gaming and mostly the usual internet surfing, email stuff. I've always had a computer buddy help me out with picking the parts but he's since gotten married and is not up on all the new technology. Any help is apprecaited!

More about : 500 700 budget build

October 8, 2006 4:34:08 PM

I'm a newb so wait until the Pro's here modify my build but i put this together on newegg. Also assumed you won't bother with OC'ing or SLI since you stated 'light gaming'.

Foxconn P9657AA-8KS2H Socket T (LGA 775) Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
In Stock
$99.99 $99.99

BIOSTAR VP7603GT21 Geforce 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail
Mail-in Rebate
$158.99 $158.99

Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 Conroe 1.86GHz LGA 775 Processor
$180.00 $180.00

Patriot 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 533 (PC2 4200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model PSD21G533K - Retail
$119.99 -$8.00 Instant $111.99

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording) ST3250620AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
$79.99 -$5.00 Instant $74.99

Subtotal: $626 I left you some room for taxes and shipping. If you can afford a little more, one of the gigabyte or asus boards might be worth spending that extra on. Also notice only 1 GB of ram. 2 GB would add about another $100 or so.
October 8, 2006 6:42:02 PM

Quote:
I'm a newb so wait until the Pro's here modify my build but i put this together on newegg. Also assumed you won't bother with OC'ing or SLI since you stated 'light gaming'.

Foxconn P9657AA-8KS2H Socket T (LGA 775) Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
In Stock
$99.99 $99.99

BIOSTAR VP7603GT21 Geforce 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail