Liquid Cooling Your Processors?

Synthetickiller

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2006
I've already built liquid cooling systems before ( prepackaged) so i'm not a total newbie, but I had a question about something.

If i were to cool 1 CPU and 1 GPU, would it be better to have a set up like this:

Reservoir w/ pump to CPU to radiator w/ fans to GPU to radiator w/ fans to reservoir.

This way, some heat from the CPU will be disipated before getting to the GPU, allowing for greater heat absorbtion vs going from the CPU to GPU directly.

Also, is HDD liquid cooling overkill and pointless? Same with ram? North and Southbridge chipsets? The idea is to pull as much heat off the system with minimal fan usage.

phreejak

Distinguished
May 11, 2006
The setup your described is ideal. If you look at my sign below, you'll see that in one of my loops I have dual rads and that loop follows the exact loop you mentioned.

Northbridge cooling is ok and if you are a tremendous overclocker it might be understood but a decent quality HSF would do just fine. Cooling the southbridge isn't necessary beyond the stock heatsink htat it usually comes with. Ram cooling is purely a novelty - the heatspreader that typically comes with ram can handle even overclocking duties.

chuckshissle

Splendid
Feb 2, 2006