Time for an upgrade and I need some advice...

prodaytrader

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2006
I am currently running a rather dated reciever and 2 book shelf speakers on a 7.1 sound card. BF 2142 is about to be released so I want to finally take the 7.1 or 5.1 plunge. I already have a pretty nice sub so I was thinking about keeping that. My question is this: whats the best way to hook up to the sound card these days? I have been useing a reciever set up for about 10 years now. Is there a better way or is this still the best? My sound card has 4 jacks for direct speaker hook up. I have doubts that the sound card can really power a decent set of speakers. The speaker kits that I see in the stores look pretty cheese compared to a DIY system. Should I be looking to connect the sound system directly to the sound card or should I just stick with the line out and then build off a reciever? Thanks for the tips.
P.s. I will likely have about $300 or so to work with. I will stick with my current sound card and only be upgrading the speaker system. The sub is in top notch so I will likely keep that if I go the reciever route. I was thinking that I could probably find a way to hook it up to the sound card directly if I go the direct hook up to the sound card route.

Hawkmielle

Distinguished
Oct 13, 2006
There is no straight forward answer to that question in my opinion.

With a $300 budget a nice set of 5.1 or 7.1 computer speakers will work and take advantage of your 4 line out jacks. Problem solved and you will definately stay under budget. Klipsch, Logitech and others make some pretty good packages. Just don't pay retail price for them at a big box store. Good computer retailers will sell them for 30-50% less then the suggested manufacturer retail price.