How can I tell if WinXP is detecting both E6600 C2D cores?

suzukii

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2006
C2D Noob here.
How can I tell if WinXP is detecting both E6600 C2D cores?

I pressed the CTRL+ALT+DEL keys in WinXP, WinXp SP2's Task Manager pops up & in the "Performance" tab nothing looks different from my my P4 2.8GHZ Prescott system's Task Manager's "Performance" tab which is also running Win XP2.
My hardware is listed under my sig.
The panes I see in Windows Task Manager are
CPU Usage, CPU Usage History,
PF Usage, Page file Usage History,
Totals, Physical Memory (K),
Commit Charge (K) & Kernel Memory (K).

BTW, I have flashed my mobo using the Gigabyte P5 Bios update.

Thanks guys & gals.

Swagman

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2005
Ohh a question I may be able to answer..... I'm new to all this too....

but I can help here

If you open task manager, and on the performance tab, under CPU Usage History, can you see 2 graphs side by side, seperated by a bar ?

If you can that means it can see and recognise both cores.... as there is a graph for each core.....

you can see them working if you run Prime95 with affinity activated, so your using both cores

suzukii

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2006
...I feel the same way even though I've been bldg systems for over 15yrs. But this C2D stuff & AMD X2's are kicking my butt for being away from it all for over 3yrs...

Anyhow back to the real topic here, I do see the two graphs, but like I said in the original post it's identical to my old system which is right next to me. My old system is the P4 2.8GHZ Prescott which is a socket 478, single-core CPU.

PRIME95??? O-oh something new again. What's the latest version? Is it 24.14? Got a link for the latest Download?

Big Thanks.

MCGTech

Distinguished
Apr 5, 2006
...I feel the same way even though I've been bldg systems for over 15yrs. But this C2D stuff & AMD X2's are kicking my butt for being away from it all for over 3yrs...