Your question

Need some advice on buiding system

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
October 13, 2006 1:17:15 AM

Trying to build a system but I am really a novice.
I have built two systems but I really don’t stay up on things as you people do.
The two systems I have built have Asus boards without any problems so I will probably stay with them.

I am not into over clocking other than the 5-10% the Bios will let me choose.

I do play some games but only against the computer and seldom online.

My problem is I have the P4p800 which has the AGP slot and the ATI X800XT, with the Antec ps 425 so I have to upgrade almost everything.

I have 2 Raptor hard drives which I will keep
Asus CD (keep)
Plextor 708a (Keep)
Lian Li PC-60 case with 120mm fan side door and 120 mm fan top,
2x80mm fan front and 1 80mm rear not counting power supply fan. (keep)

I plan on the E6700 Chip
Samsung 244T
Video card ? I will be getting Vista when it comes out and the DX10 card.
Motherboard Asus model P5B Deluxe?
Power supply Seasonic M12 600 watts
Memory 2 GB Brand ?

I am probably over building but should be good for a few years.

I would appreciate any suggestions and also does it seem necessary to add a cooler?

Thanks

More about : advice buiding system

October 15, 2006 4:40:50 AM

No point asking any advice at this site, I guess nobody has opinons
October 15, 2006 5:28:47 AM

When do you want to build it? Next spring quad-core processors and dx10 cards should be avail sale. I'm trying to hold out until then but I really want to spent money now. Abit has a couple motherboards that state being quad core compatible. It'd be a good idea to get one of those so you can pop in the quad core when it's avail.

I'd get the E6600 over the E6700 right now because the E6600 is only 10% slower but 40% less expensive.